Posted by: panzer magier | May 6, 2012

Blogging, the Digital Time Capsule

when a pun goes wrong

For a change of pace, I decided to re-visit this forsaken blog. Much to my surprise, my total views have risen to over 5000. I remember it was only 1000 a year ago. All the while, I have not updated a thing for about 20 months. Obviously, google has been working way too hard.

However, no matter how many times I do it, looking back at what I wrote in the past is always a weird sensation. The screen shots, the topics, the bad jokes… every little detail is a moment frozen in time, and a little bit of myself left alongside with it. My past self is as much a part of the me today as anything else, but at the same time, I am no longer the person that I was yesterday. Reading at my own posts makes me realise that, for better or for worse, I have changed. No… perhaps it would be better to say that I am still changing.

Looking back, I cannot say for certain whether I have grown or not. Perhaps this is a signal for change. A great change. But one thing for sure: time may not wait for anyone, but a blog certainly does; my digital footstep will be frozen in time, waiting for someone to come across it again. At least, until wordpress’s server goes down.

In a few years, I will likely look back again on this post. At that point, I will be able to smile at my beliefs, frown at my naivety, and laugh at my view count.

Leave a Reply

Categories

